Colorado By Neil Young with Crazy Horse To Be Released October 25

Neil Young with Crazy Horse return October 25, with Colorado. Photo: Danny Clinch

On October 25, Neil Young is releasing his first album with Crazy Horse since 2012, on the intriguing and aptly titled Colorado. Young and his band recorded the album in Telluride, at the Studio in The Clouds.

The first single off of the new album is called “Milky Way,” featuring trademark Crazy Horse angular guitar and feedback – a slow-moving jam that has been performed recently with a different Young-fronted band, the Promise of the Real.

“Milky Way” is the first song off of side 3 of the vinyl edition, according to a press release, and is followed by a song called “Eternity”, suggesting Young was in an inspired mindset while gazing up and out over Colorado’s landscapes. See below for the full tracklist. 

Colorado seems to find Young in a burst of creativity. Earlier this year on his website in a post entitled “CRAZY HORSE PLAYBACK!: High In The Rockies,” Young wrote that the new album “stands as one of the most diverse albums I have ever made,” calling it “one to stand alongside Everybody Know’s (sic) this is Nowhere, Rust Never Sleeps,” and more. 

A documentary about Colorado will be coming out this year, too, although no release date has been given. Colorado will feature songs ranging from “3 minutes to over 13 minutes,” Young has said. The album can be preordered here.

Colorado tracklist: 

  1. “Think of Me”
  2. “She Showed Me Love”
  3. “Olden Days”
  4. “Help Me Lose My Mind”
  5. “Green Is Blue”
  6. “Shut It Down”
  7. “Milky Way”
  8. “Eternity”
  9. “Rainbow of Colors”
  10. “I Do”